Soursop: A Spiky Fruit with Big Taste

whole-fruit-1

This week is turning out to be Tropical Fruit Exploration Week for me. Mike and I loaded up on all kinds of mysterious fruits (to us anyway) at the farmer’s market and now I’m trying to figure out what to do with them. Not a bad problem to have and actually pretty fun! I’m also learning a lot about which fruits are indigenous to Hawaii and which fruits were brought here for cultivation (well they all were brought here by someone or something but I think you know what I mean).

Today’s experimental fruit is soursop. I didn’t even realize that I had seen products containing this fruit before. As a big fan of Mexican grocery stores in Detroit, we’ve actually seen it called by it’s other name; guanabana. You can find it at E &L Mercado in Detroit in the freezer section as pulp or in the juice section. They might even have it fresh… who knows?

Soursop has a sweet and sour flavor; a bit like guava, and a creamy yet fibrous texture. It has been noted to have some quite amazing health benefits ranging from cancer prevention to curing a hangover… sign me up!  It’s porcupine-like appearance makes it seem a bit daunting but I went ahead and decided to turn it into a smoothie.

cut-fruit-1First things first… you need to extract the pulp. I read that it’s easy to slice the fruit in half then scoop out the flesh with a spoon. Um… no. That didn’t work so well as the fruit is extremely fibrous and sticks to the exterior of the fruit like crazy. In addition, there are some really big seeds in there which were popping out all over as the spoon was just digging into nothing. I made a big, sloppy mess of the first half. No bueno.

So, for the second half, I decided to cut of the outer peel. This worked much better! I was able to then cut it into chunks and push all the seeds out. I collected all the pulp in a bowl and just pressed it with my fingers to make sure that I had gotten all the seeds… phew!

I decided to make a smoothie with the pulp since it was breakfast time, I was hungry, and I was getting tired of my usual smoothie ingredients. I also thought the creaminess of the fruit would be a nice texture in a smoothie and also that blending it would help to break up all the fibre. I have to say, it was pretty delicious! Muy bueno!

Soursop (guanabana) Smoothie

Ingredients:cut-in-blender-1

Pulp of 1/2 soursop, about 3/4 cup (you can also use frozen pulp which would actually be much easier)

1 small banana

3/4 cup frozen fruit (I used pineapple and mango)

3/4 cup fresh kale or spinach leaves

2 scoops protein powder- I use Young Living Pure Protein Complete; vanilla spice flavor

1 1/2-2 cups coconut milk

Directions:

Place all ingredients in a blender and process on high until smooth…yumsicles!

smoothie-1

 

Leave a Reply

