Cleansing

cleanse

 

My husband Mike and I are attending a class on Native Hawaiian healing, or Lā’au Lapa’au. The theme of the class is cleansing. This has got me thinking about cleansing. While the class is focused on cleansing the physical body, I’ve been thinking about cleansing some other things. My home for one, but really I’ve been thinking about cleansing my negative thoughts.

I don’t know about you but I have been my own worst enemy. I have big dreams, I work hard, I love people hard and I take risks. But then I tend to have these really horrible thoughts. For example, I spent several hours writing my last blog post (First Step). As I got ready to publish it, the thoughts that went through my head went something like this: ” No one is going to read this.” ” This isn’t good enough.” “There are a billion other blogs that are better than mine. Why do I do this? Who do I think I am?”

That is so fucked up.

I know in my heart that I am no better or worse than anyone else. But, for some reason, I tend to beat myself up. And I need to stop that shit right now. If you’re anything like me, than you need to stop beating yourself up too. It is time for a mind cleanse. For the next several days I am going to really pay attention to my thinking. Every time I have a negative thought about myself I am going to sweep that crap right out of my mind and replace it with something positive: something I’m good at, something that I’m grateful for, etc. I am going to focus on lifting myself up because, let’s face it, most of us, myself included, have spent the majority of our lives tearing ourselves down.

When you want to build something, you have to do it one stone at a time, one, shovel-full at a time, one step at a time. This week, I am going to take the first step of building my authentic self one thought at a time.

Will you join me?

Leave a Reply

